Sub Menu


Cheshire County is value and service driven.  Cheshire County will be known as an innovative and progressive leader providing cost effective county services that are required by statute.  Others will benchmark against Cheshire County as an example of the best in local government as we partner to meet the unique or unmet needs of county residents.  The citizens and Board of Commissioners will be proud of the staff and have a firm belief in the reliability, truth and strength of the organization.

Cheshire County, New Hampshire covers 23 towns and 729 square miles in the southwestern corner of the state. The Connecticut and Ashuelot (Ash-WHEEL-ot) rivers run through the county and the second most hiked mountain in the world, (only behind Mt Fuji in Japan) Mt. Monadnock (3,165ft) is found in Cheshire County.  The July 1, 2021 estimated population of Cheshire County is 77,329.  The County seat is Keene, NH.

Cheshire County government consists of two branches; a Legislative Branch, referred to as the county delegation, which is comprised of twenty-three (23) Representatives elected for 2 year terms, and an Executive Branch consisting of three commissioners. Two of the commissioners are elected for 2 year terms and one is elected for a 4 year term on a rotating basis. The Cheshire County Commissioners appoint a full-time County Administrator to oversee the daily operations of the county.